A New Year Dawns Brighter?

  I sure hope so. Time, as we all know is just an illusion, but it’s hard to fathom life without it. So a New Year is easy to comprehend. And the 365 days left to do what we want in that short period.

I’m not going to babble on about all the issues and problems I want solved in this New Year.  I’m not going to mumble and grumble about situations that have gone awry in the last year. I’m going to stumble and bumble on about books, and what I want to do with them this year.

 No…I’m not going to rip out pages and roll around naked in them. That was last year.  This year my goal is simple. To read at least 15 fiction novels. I tend to gravitate towards only reading SF and Fantasy. I need to stop this and focus more on all fiction. I can name two off the bat that will be read. ‘Moby Dick’ – Melville and ‘Things Fall Apart’ – Chinua Achebe. But that’s only 2. What will be the other 13?

If I accomplish this goal will my New Year dawn brighter? Or is that just an illusion as well?

Achebe

4 Responses to “A New Year Dawns Brighter?”

  1. Books choose you when they’re ready to be read. Sometimes, the point you are in your life means that they won’t touch you right so going by some gung-ho reading list is just bizarre. Now, I happen to like reading lists so that I have a book available when I get the itch to grab something but that’s because I can’t say no to a book begging to be bought. I think I can come up with some suggestions for you from a girl who has read too many books.

    Hmmm… I’m reading Haunted by Chuck Palahniuk right now and it’s turning out to be incredibly good. It’s definitely not for the faint of heart, but good nonetheless. My brother bought three of his books for me for Christmas and then immediately asked to borrow them back. Let’s see what else. 😛

    Anything by M. J. Rose is a good, captivating light read. It’s contemporary fiction, sometimes classified as erotica but really it’s 100 times milder than Kushiel’s Dart.

    As A Driven Leaf by Milton Steinberg is one of those “perspective broadening” books. It’s about a Jewish rabbi who set out to Rome to learn philosophy and it is highly rewarding and thought provoking.

    Angel Cafe by Jill Morrow was wildly entertaining. Part religious thriller, part murder mystery, and totally bizarre it was one of the most original books I’ve ever accidentally stumbled onto.

    The Simple Truth by David Baldacci is a political thriller that I’ve read about 95 times. I enjoy it and nearly every other political thriller by Baldacci. I don’t like his other crap though. 😛

    Coffee Will Make You Black by April Sinclair was a riot! It’s African-American chick-lit, but I found it hilarious and I am not black nor do I enjoy chick-lit.

    Good luck with your goal and be sure to keep us updated on your progress and what you thought of the books! I’ve added you to the blogroll. 🙂

  2. Good luck and Happy New Year! Blog mad dropped me off so I thought I’d go ahead and say hi while I was here.

  3. Cyndi – I like book lists for some reason I can’t quite grasp. I agree it is weird to put time limits on things you want to enjoy, but I also feel that there are so many good books out there that ‘need’ to be read. And with a list, it keeps me in order. And besides, I know I can break the rules. 😉

    Thank you so much for your recommendations! I haven’t read any of those, but some seem to be good reads.

    And I will let you know as well, what I’ll be reading. Right now it’s Martin’s ‘A Storm of Swords’ (you see, more fantasy). Only 700 more pages of his brilliant writing to go!

    rashenbo – Thanks! Happy New Year to you as well.

  4. LOL, I know how lists can be strangely addicting. I just ordered over $100 in book-on-books action with my Christmas presents to B&N. Soon, I will have 1001 things you must read before you die, Book Lust, More Book Lust, and How to Care For and Feed Your Books. 😛

    Enjoy reading! Storm of Swords for Martin was where it got too long winded for me to go on. However, I’ve finished the Sword of Truth series by Goodkind about 5 times, so I don’t think it was as much the writing as it was circumstances. (And this is from a girl who professes to hate fantasy! :D)


Leave a Reply

